伊芙琳号游艇艇主的生平简介

伊芙琳号游艇的首任艇主: 菲茨罗伊•劳埃德

查尔斯•西德尼•菲茨罗伊•劳埃德(Charles Sidney Fitzroy Lloyd)于1875年11月11日出生在苏格兰法夫郡(Fifeshire)的一个贫穷小渔村皮滕威姆 (Pittenween)。 这里是许多商船水手出身的地方。他的父亲费利克斯•菲茨罗伊•凯利•劳埃德(Felix Fitzroy Kelly Lloyd)是一名神职人员。他最初的工作是水手,后来于1899 年7月27日加入中国帝国海关, 成为一名看守人,月薪仅有50 两(tael,当时一英镑大约等于三两)。

中国帝国海关在当时是由独立的外国管理人掌管,虽然说这是由中国政府控制,却是在外国列强的默许下操作。这种情形一直延续到1940年代。它的角色是保护外国商人, 免受地方上的贪官污吏所剥削,并确保中国政府能够取得关税收入。

他于1911年被升任为书记,其后在1914 年再被擢升为管工, 最后于1928年退休。他所担任的都不算是高职,但也不是太低的职位, 而根据《社会上海》期刊的记载,菲茨罗伊显然热衷于帆船活动。他的婚姻看起来也颇为‘风光’,虽然现在无法确定这段姻缘是通过媒妁之言或其他安排而促成。他于1902年2月1日迎娶28岁的罗斯•埃塞尔•哈尼施小姐 (Miss Rose Ethel Hanisch)(伊芙琳号游艇最初取名Ethel L,由来在此; 不过,为了能明确叙述,在此网页上我们仍称她为伊芙琳号)。婚礼在圣三一教堂举行 (这座宏伟的建筑至今依然在原址屹立不倒),过后在新娘母亲的住家宴客;这所房子坐落在黄埔路门牌35号,即是外滩尾端, 在当时是一栋很体面的房子。新娘的已故父亲曾任职于中国帝国邮政局,当时这是中国帝国海关的部门之一;他显然是来自上海的哈尼施德国裔大家族, 这个家族于19世纪后期在上海定居,很可能是来自美国, 因为资料显示,上海的哈尼施家族成员多数住在美国宿舍或任职于美国贸易公司。

在买下伊芙琳号游艇之前,菲茨罗伊看来已在上海游艇俱乐部活跃多年,与上层社会交往频密。他的薪水似乎不足以让他买下游艇,因此他可能获得太太娘家的资助, 也或许是由于他鸿运当头,身为一个看守人, 得以破获价值不菲的走私货物而获得海关颁发奖励金;这在当时的海关官员之间颇为常见。据说,他在1907年参加海洋工程师化妆舞会时, 是以Moonlighter 的装扮出现,而在1911年的海关俱乐部化妆舞会上,他则扮成沃尔特•雷利爵士(Sir Walter Raleigh)!

菲茨罗伊似乎看准自己可以从上海游艇俱乐部的干事荣升成为众望所归的会长, 因此他必须拥有一艘更大的游览与竞赛游艇。有关伊芙琳号游艇由来的记录, 只能在劳埃德船级社或上海当时的主要英文报《北华捷报》中寻获。

他的游艇竞赛成绩似乎乏善可陈,虽然他早期即拥有竞赛游艇大西洋三号(Atlantic III)。五行打油诗  (limerick) 在当时颇为流行,上海游艇俱乐部的期刊《社交上海》曾在菲茨罗伊成为俱乐部会长之前刊登过一首有关俱乐部游艇艇主的五行打油诗, 其中有一节提到菲茨罗伊与他的游艇,颇为幽默生动:

“有一艘船叫大西洋号

其船长处事狂乱

他曾撞到了一艘帆船

也曾叫船员惊慌失措

用他极度浪漫的话语”

在担任了一届的会长之后, 他卸下职务,并且退出俱乐部的理事会。从此以后,他不再驾驶伊芙琳号游艇出赛。根据报道,他的太太于1912 年2月2日在她母亲位于黄埔路35号的房子生下一名女儿。他和他太太两人的社交生活陆续获得报刊报道, 后来两人逐渐退出社交圈子。在他退休之前,他曾因为健康欠佳而到外国休养一段日子。在英国的摩门教文件记录显示, 他于1941年在英国逝世,不过相关记录没有提及他的太太。如果能够继续探索其家庭的历史,或能寻获早期的图片,甚至找到有关他与约翰•奥尔登的关系的证据。

伊芙琳号第二任艇主 :欧•伯萨尼先生

根据1927年版的《中国名人录》(Who’s Who in China),欧•伯萨尼是上海法商电车电灯公司的技术副经理,看起来是主任手下的第二号人物。他的名字显示他可能来自科西嘉岛。在游艇俱乐部期刊与任何英文报章的文章里,都找不到有关于他生平事迹的点点滴滴。

伊芙琳号游艇的第三任艇主:赫伯特•埃德加•米德尔顿船长(Capt. Herbert Edgar Middleton)

米德尔顿船长于1884年3月1日在英国的克罗伊登(Croydon) 出生。他的父亲是赫伯特•乔治•米德尔顿(Herbert George Middleton), 来自艾塞克斯 (Essex) 的莱顿斯通(Leytonstone),曾是《西班牙学报》的主编及一位私人秘书,住在克罗伊登的Sunningbank, 门牌19号。米德尔顿船长自小接受私人教育,这显示他的家境颇为富裕。1907年5月,他抵达上海,开始在上海市政厅的财政部任职。他活跃于当时著名的上海志愿军团,曾是马克西姆重机枪炮兵组的中尉。在第一次世界大战期间,他在埃塞克斯军团的机关枪部队服役,却在1917年的伊普尔战役(Battle of Ypres)受伤(无独有偶,现任艇主的父亲也在同一战役中受伤!)。从1918年至1921年,他被英军派到西伯利亚执行军事任务, 过后他回到上海继续担任他的职位,并曾获得几次擢升,官至高级副财务司(1939年), 于1940年退休。

米德尔顿活跃于上海游艇俱乐部,曾在不同时间担任秘书与副会长的职位。他显然拥有其他数艘游艇,不过, 却不曾驾驶伊芙琳号游艇出赛。

他和乔治娜•比阿特丽斯•米德尔顿(Georgina Beatrice Middleton)结婚;乔治娜来自埃塞克斯的伍德曼科特(Woodmancot),后来于1964年去世。他们夫妇俩育有三名孩子:海伦、奥利弗与彼得。至于米德尔顿本人,有关他退休后的情形或于何时何地去世的记录皆告阙如。探索他家庭的历史或可揭开伊芙琳号游艇于何时何地及如何来到新加坡的谜团!

Her Owners’ Profiles

Her Owners’ Profiles

Eveline’s First Owner – Fitzroy Lloyd

Charles Sidney Fitzroy Lloyd was born on 11th November 1875 in Pittenween, a poor fishing village in Fifeshire, Scotland, from where many merchant seamen originated where his father Felix Fitzroy Kelly Lloyd was a Clerk in Holy Orders.  He started out in life as a seaman and on 27th July 1899 he joined the Chinese Imperial Maritime Customs as a Watcher at the lowly salary of 50 taels per month (3 taels: 1 Sterling pound around then).


The Chinese Imperial Maritime Customs was run by colourful independent expatriate management under the control of the Chinese Government with the tacit approval of the Western powers until the 1940s.  Its role was to protect foreign traders from rapacious local officials and to ensure the Chinese Government received its customs revenues.

By 1911 he had been promoted to Clerk, and in 1914 to Supervisor and eventually retiring in that rank in 1928.  These were not especially senior positions but nor were they lowly and it is apparent from stories in Social Shanghai that Fitzroy was keen on sailing and clearly, whether by design of otherwise, seemingly married “well” on 1st February 1902 to Miss Rose Ethel Hanisch, aged 28 (hence Eveline’s first name of “Ethel L”, although for clarity she will always be called Eveline on this website). The marriage took place at the Holy Trinity Cathedral , a grand structure that still remains there to this day followed by a reception at the bride’s mother’s house at 35 Whangpoo Road, located just at the end of the Bund and at that time a very smart address. The Bride’s late father had served with the Chinese Imperial Post Office, then a division of the Chinese Imperial Maritime Customs and was clearly part of a wider Hanisch family of German origin settled in Shanghai by the late 19th century though probably originating from USA judging by records referring to other Hanisch’s living in the American Quarter and working for example, the American Trading Co.

Fitzroy appeared to have been active in the Shanghai Yacht Club for many years prior to his acquiring Eveline and to enjoy a lively social life mixing in the better circles. His salary alone would not have funded it so it is likely he was either aided by his in laws or very possibly had been lucky enough to earn prize money that Customs Officials could earn if they managed to intercept a large amount of contraband as Watchers could do! He was reported to have attended the 1907 Marine Engineers Fancy Dress Ball dressed as a Moonlighter and the 1911 Customs Club Fancy Dress Ball dressed as Sir Walter Raleigh!

It appears that Fitzroy saw himself destined to rise from Rear Commodore in the Shanghai Yacht Club to the prestigious position of Commodore and desired to link this with the delivery of a larger cruising cum racing yacht. The only records of Eveline’s arrival are held in Lloyd’s Register of Shipping or as mentioned in Shanghai’s leading news paper, North China Herald.

His racing success seemed to be limited even with his earlier day racing yacht Atlantic III. Limerick composing was a popular pastime then and one published before he became Commodore in Social Shanghai had verses on the Club’s leading sailors included a humourous but telling verse on Fitzroy and his yacht as follows:

“There was a boat called the Atlantic

Whose skipper did things that were frantic

He ran down a junk

Made her crew in a funk

By his awful sayings romantic”

After serving just one year as Commodore, he stepped down from this position and indeed from the Committee. Eveline then ceased to be raced. It is reported that on February 2, 1912 a daughter was born to Fitzroy and Ethel at their bride’s mother’s house 35 in Whangpoo Road house. Their appearances socially continue to be reported but gradually fade away also and prior to his eventual retirement Fitzroy is reported to have spent sometime overseas due to ill health. Mormon source records in UK indicate he died in 1941 in UK but with no mention of his wife. Tracing this family might yield early photos or even evidence of the John Alden connection.

 

Eveline’s Second Owner – J.E.R. Harris and C.F. Harris

These particular owners did not seemingly register their ownership at Lloyd’s Register of Shipping and the only reference to date of their ownership is in 17th May 1919’s The North China Herald in its report on the proceedings at the Yacht’s Club’s AGM when these 2 gentlemen were listed as the owners of the yawl Eveline with J.E.R. Harris also being on the Club’s Committee as Official Timekeeper.

 

Eveline’s Third Owner – Monsieur O. Bersani

According to the 1927 Edition of Who’s Who in China, O. Bersani was the Technical Sub Manager of the Compagnie de Tramways et D’Eclairage Electriques de Shanghai, seemingly the number two man to the head. The name indicates a Corsican origin and he did not seem to be featured in the Yacht Club’s activities or indeed in any English language media coverage.

 

Eveline’s Fourth Owner – Capt. Herbert Edgar Middleton, M.B.E.

Captain Middleton was born in Croydon on March 1, 1884 the son of Herbert George Middleton of Leytonstone, Essex who was (according to the 1891 census) editor of The Spanish Journal and Secretary to a “Public Illegible” and living at 19 Sunningbank, Croydon. He was educated privately, indicating some degree of family affluence and arrived in Shanghai in May 1907 to join the finance  department of the Shanghai Municipal Council where he was active in the famous Shanghai Volunteer Corps as a Lieutenant attached to the Maxim battery. During World War 1, he served in the Machine Gun Corps of the Essex Regiment being injured in the Battle of Ypres in 1917 (coincidentally in the same battle as the current owner’s father was injured!). He participated in a British military mission to Siberia in 1918-21 after which he returned to his employment in Shanghai  where he stayed being promoted gradually until he reached the senior rank of Assistant Treasurer in 1939/40 when he retired.

Middleton was active in the Shanghai Yacht Club holding the position of Secretary and Vice Commodore at various times. He clearly owned other yachts over time. He appeared never to race Eveline.

He married Georgina Beatrice Middleton who was living in Woodmancote, Sussex when she died in 1964 and it appears they had 3 children Helen, Oliver and Peter. Of Middleton himself, there has been no trace of him or where he died after his retirement. Tracing this family might enable the mystery of when, why and how Eveline came to Singapore to be unraveled!